Flat Number Five

Friends, I have made it to the other side. After a lengthy day of exertion, three of us managed to move my worldly possessions into a studio flat in Southampton. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with this outcome.

IMG_0550

Choosing to live on your own immediately after graduating is not a simple path. But it was always destined to be the right one for me. After other options were discussed, this was the direction that I was drawn to the most. I wanted to live by myself due to many contributing factors, but this choice is not without its sacrifices.

IMG_0548

Luckily, water and gas central heating are included in the monthly rent, but I still have a hefty council tax bill to deal with every month. There is no roommate in which to fall back on – it’s up to me. I have to pay a round pound coin to the little box under my kitchen counter in order to continue using the electricity. I cannot afford to own a television and personal broadband is a luxury beyond my means. So I will go without.

IMG_0549

But this is no true hardship. In a sense, it very much appeals to my thrifty nature. I’ve always enjoyed budgeting and such, it’s just now the stakes are higher. I like to see how much electricity I can use before adding another coin. I’m writing to you from the local library, who offers free use of their internet for up to two hours five days a week. I’m reading more and dancing to the radio every chance I get. Just because I don’t have a Sky box leaking money in the corner doesn’t mean I am in any way deprived.

The cooking is yet to begin in earnest, but I have batch cooked a Bolognese for hot meals this week. I’ve also saved some vegetable water with the intention of making soup on my next day off. I can see much of my free time being spent in the kitchen, it’s my favourite place to be. And besides, I have a freezer to fill!

IMG_0554

I’m off to battle the rain and continue with my chores. I hope you all have a wonderful start to the week.

4 thoughts on “Flat Number Five

  1. Good luck to you indeed.
    I love to read your posts and peep in on your life, thank you for sharing.
    Its a great time of life for you, just starting out on your own, very special and to be savoured.
    For me it was one of the most rewarding and satisfying times of my life.
    Love from Pam in Texas. (Ex pat from Swindon Wilts).

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment. I am very grateful for my life now, and I’m certainly making the most of this time. Where did you spend your early twenties? And that’s what a big move from Swindon all the way to Texas! Thanks again.

Leave a comment