Frugal Fridays #2

This week’s Frugal Friday fun is foodie based. I will gladly change my food plan if I see something good on offer. And this was a very good offer.

DSCN1400

Braising beef, £2.24 for 400g! Very impressed with this bargain. It got thrown into my slow cooker with root vegetables, improvised stock made from gluten-free gravy powder and a bay leaf found in my spice box.

The results were delicious. I love having meals ready and waiting for the rest of the week.

DSCN1405

Costs:

Beef £2.24

Parsnip 25p

3x carrots 12p

Onion 23p

Pre-packed half swede 54p

olive oil/bay leaf/stock powder/seasoning – already in store cupboard.

Total cost = £3.38 Divided by 5 portions = 68p per portion! Can’t go wrong with a hearty stew 🙂

I was lucky with bargains on my last supermarket shop actually. I prefer to use butter when baking and cooking because you can understand the ingredients list, compared to some of the chemical-ridden margarines. Countrylife butter was on offer, 750g for £3. Sainsbury’s own brand butter, you would have to pay £4.50 for the same amount. This will last me the month, if not longer.

DSCN1401

And because I’ve learnt to read use-by dates with a pinch of salt, I got a dozen eggs for £1.96. That’s even cheaper than the Farmer’s Market! They are free range eggs from some fancy farm and made a delicious omelette for lunch. I’ll use these up in no time; omelettes, scrambled eggs, pancakes, cakes, cookies, lots of possibilities for a frugal cook’s best friend.

DSCN1398

I hope you’ve all managed to procure some bargains recently. Thanks to feedback from pipknits, I’ve made a proper “About” page. Do let me know what you think of it 🙂 I’m still learning about the ins and outs of WordPress, and I know there is definite room for improvement. Have a lovely weekend.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Fridays #2

  1. If you want to have a look on my blog, I have quite a lot of information regarding rations and our experience of living completely on them for 6 years when the going got really tough financially for us!

    • Hi there, I’ve read your blog posts already and found them so interesting to read 🙂 I’m in a similar state, what with being a student and all 😛 I’m finding rations challenging at times, but good so far. Let’s see how I feel at the end of the month!
      Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

