Treasure

The photo below looks like an ordinary grocery haul. In some senses, it is. But I did not part with one penny to obtain this food. It came from the generosity of the chap.

He is off on another jolly holiday and had to clear the fridge before departing. I was there, hessian bag in hand, ready to rescue anything I could. I came home with a real bounty. Thank you my love! I hope you have a wonderful trip.

DSCN1952

Broccoli, double cream, strawberries, Free From bread, avocados, eggs, apples, carrots, red onion, limes, lemon, clementines, light cream cheese, cherry tomatoes

            Now, onto the exciting matter of what I can concoct with my table laden with ingredients. All of the foodstuffs are things I like. Some regularly form part of my weekly shop, some of them I rarely buy. This is either because they are out of reach of my budget, or are not akin to my chosen lifestyle – here’s looking at you double cream! But nothing will be wasted on my watch.

This gift has come at the right time, as I have recently been re-reading Kitchen Diaries II. I have written about Nigel Slater’s wonderful book in an earlier post. His intuitive way of cooking, displayed in the book and on the recent television programme, is a style I wish to emulate. With unusual (to me) ingredients, some store cupboard staples and a little bit of risk taking, I should be able to feed myself this week on a minimal budget. I say minimal rather than nothing, as this Storyteller needs to purchase milk for idea-inducing tea.

By looking at the picture, I’m seeing some broccoli stirred with some cream cheese and herbs to make a lovely baked potato topping. Strawberries and cream will merge to create a decadent pudding. The lime and one avocado, along with a dash of chilli powder with make a cheat’s guacamole to be spread on toast. I can see those ripe cherry tomatoes finding their way to my pasta bowl. The possibilities have left me salivating. What would you make with these ingredients?

Due to my hours at work today, I shall be able to visit the supermarkets just as they whip out the yellow stickers. Fingers crossed that M&S will come up trumps and I’ll be able to get my hands on a couple of items that will bulk out the free food. If I come home this evening with salmon, I shall feel very lucky indeed.

This post has combined my three greatest passions. My chap, my handsome man and his bottomless kindness. Food; I adore every aspect about it and I can’t wait to start cooking up a storm. And being able to write about my culinary adventures on this very blog. It’s nice to start the week feeling content. Now, to the kitchen!

One thought on “Treasure

  1. What do I see there – ooh with a packet of pasta (surely a store cupboard staple, or fingers crossed that you managed to snare some yellow stickered fresh pasta) I see a wonderful cheesy, broccoli pasta bake flecked through with tomatoes. I see a delightful fruity concoction of strawberries, sliced avocado, a squeeze of lemon and a dollop of cream. I see an oven roasted dish of thickly sliced carrot, broccoli florets, a couple of halved tomatoes and onion wedges, and I see luscious creamy scrambled eggs on toast washed down with freshly squeezed orange juice. Finally I see apple puree with a dollop of cream for a simple but totally gorgeous dessert.

    I’m not sure what the little green thing are, limes? little mangoes? pears? whatever they could surely be added to any of the above with a dash of flair.

    You simply HAVE to let us know what you actually made and what goodies you scored at good old M&S. I wish we had one near us, I would loiter and wait for sticker time every night 🙂

Leave a Reply

