Crossing the bridge

Forgive me for the self-indulgent post I published yesterday. I do realise I am in a very fortunate position and realistically, I don’t have much to grumble about. But sometimes factors in life do build up and become overwhelming. I feel better that I addressed them, contained them within a blog post and now I can move past them.

One of my favourite mottos is “little and often” and it applies to most areas in life. You’ve got lots of cleaning to do; just start with one room. You have five books to read in a fortnight; start with the largest one and work your way down. You have three assignments due; write little and often each day. I like to remind myself of this whenever I feel daunted by the bigger picture. It’s a helpful tool for me to keep moving forwards.

I went to a talk by Sarah Lean last night, a masters graduate from University of Winchester who is now a published author. She was very easy to listen to and I felt pleased that many things she spoke about, I was already aware of. But also, she confirmed for me what I’ve been learning throughout this year. Writing is less about one spark of talent. It’s about the effort and graft you put in day after day to create a text that is edited, rewritten and revisited hundreds of times. That’s what writing and authors are about in this day and age. I find that to be a real comfort, that you get out what you put in. It ties in nicely with another favourite motto of mine; hard work reaps rewards.

4 thoughts on “Crossing the bridge

  1. Things can feel very daunting sometimes, take heart we’ve all been there. Like you said if you just take things piece by piece it will come right. Cut out anything that isn’t adding value (at this point in time), and just focus on what absolutely can’t be neglected. Above all, make sure you give yourself the time you deserve. Good luck, you’ll do great!

    • Thank you so much for your kindness 🙂 I couldn’t agree more, it’s all about breaking things down to a manageable size 🙂 I’m sure everything will get done at some point, as long as I keep working on it. Thanks again for your comment!

  2. I agree with Sophie that you can probably cut yourself some slack right now. It is only a temporary situation, and you need to be fairly relaxed and in control to get through the next few weeks. Just think you can relax over Christmas knowing you have done a great job. We really will understand if you are not able to blog every night at present. Good luck and take care. XX

Leave a Reply

