It’s all in your head

I have to offer my most grateful thanks to those who have left comments recently. I can’t tell you how much you have boosted my spirits. It was nice to be reminded that I’m not a big failure after all.

I have many challenges in my life, both academic and personal. But I am starting to realise that I also have many tools to tackle these challenges and overcome them. The most powerful tool I have is my mind.

It’s easy to say “mind over matter”, but when the matter seems daunting, it can be hard to remember. However, a little self-belief can go an awful long way. As soon as I decided that I was perfectly capable of finishing my assignments, the words started to flow. I thought I was a writer and that’s what I became. I am inching ever closer to my word count. It’s easier to put pen to paper now that the mental blockade has vanished.

The same is true on the domestic front too. Instead of worrying about the cost of the next food shop, I took a step back to survey what I already had. I told myself I was perfectly capable of making do with what I’ve got. I’ve made a veggie curry today, and there are plenty of vegetables left over. So I’ll avoid the supermarket for now and save my coins for another day.

It feels good to be in charge and in control. By reassuring myself that I am perfectly capable, I seem to be getting more done. Try it, or let me know what works for you when you’re suffering with a cloudy mind.

8 thoughts on “It’s all in your head

  1. Hi Rebecca, I do know what you mean. But you are certainly capable! I’m really impressed at you taking up the blogging-every-day challenge lately. I only work part-time and I still struggle to blog once a week! I’m constantly beating myself up for not “doing enough” but then I have to remind myself that I’m always busy, on the go, meeting people, creating things. It’s so easy to be down on yourself but not quite as easy to give yourself a pat on the back. You should do that more often! Definitely not a failure. Definitely a great blogger 🙂

Leave a Reply

