Carrying on

I had the best intentions to post to my blog yesterday, Fridays being a customary posting day. And yet, the siren song of a soppy movie and a blanket was just too strong to ignore. My movie of choice, by the way, was Letters to Juliet, starring Amanda Seyfried. It’s just soppy enough to make me smile, not grimace.

Anyways, my week has been wonderful. I have seized the work experience opportunity with both hands and my knowledge has broadened because of it. I must admit, it has been a shock switching from the drowsy pace of the Christmas holidays to suddenly be working full time, with an hour walk each day. Needless to say, it doesn’t take me long to fall asleep at night! But it’s been enriching so far and I’m sure next week will be the same.

Onto money matters, I’ve had to borrow £20 from next month’s budget. January seems to be going on forever, and I needed additional funds to get through it. This leaves £80 for February. As it’s a short month that’s free from the expenses of January, I’m sure the balance will be restored.

I had a £5 budget for shopping this week. Aside from purchasing a small thank you gift for my employers, this is what I bought:

DSCN2429

I ran out of starches early this week, so I needed to refill those stocks. As I can’t eat cheaper versions of pasta, I decided to buy cheap rice to balance the equation. I’m going to try Jack’s tip for using Basics rice in a risotto. This is the first time I’ve had white rice in awhile, but beggars can’t be choosers. The whole bag fits perfectly into one of my containers, which I very much appreciate.

DSCN2430

Speaking of containers, I found the perfect place to store my jasmine green tea (Christmas gift). This peanut butter jar has been given a new lease of life. I am finding thrifty re-cycling plays a part in my life more and more each day.

DSCN2425

3 thoughts on “Carrying on

  1. I think this month is going on far too long too but you are doing really well with your shopping challenge. I know we were away for a week, but I cannot believe I have another week to go before our new month starts (yes, like everything else we do our month is not logical!) I have walked more this week and as I am travelling to work by train most days, have not had the opportunity to shop daily. I was a little worried about this, but it has had the effect that I have felt I have to stretch everything I have already and as a result have spend a lot less on food this month. Good job, because we have had some really heavy expenditure this month too!! I am really glad you enjoyed your work experience; I was wondering what kind of company you worked in and what jobs you did. Can you boost your meals with some pulses?

    • Hi Alison, I’m currently on a two-week work experience placement with Ransom Publishing, who are based in Winchester. I’m mainly doing marketing work and office admin, but I have been reading through new manuscripts and proof reading too. I’m learning something new about the publishing industry every day, it’s great!
      Well done for resisting the urge to shop and making use of what you’ve already got in. I’ve been doing that a lot this month. I have been adding red lentils to a lot of my meals recently, the added protein helps to keep me full 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one looking forward to February!

Leave a Reply

