Pros and cons

The best thing about living near the high street is the vast array of shops and not having to rely on one supermarket. The worst thing about living near the high street is the vast array of shops and not being able to rely on one supermarket.

            In my past life in Winchester, I would make a weekly pilgrimage to the giant Sainsbury’s nearby. I also knew what to expect, I could plan accordingly and I had to take or leave what was there. Occasionally, I would purchase items from stores in town or the farmer’s market, but most weeks, a single trip to Sainsbury’s was all I needed.

            Imagine my delight when I ventured into my new playground. That’s the best thing about living in a multicultural area, you get to purchase great food! There is also a charity shop every few paces and fantastic independent retailers selling everything under the sun. Stock changes on a daily basis and you’ll never know what’s going to be on offer at the greengrocer’s next. All of this is just a mere stone’s throw away, but that is where the conundrum lies. It’s far too tempting to pop into the shops when essentially, I don’t really need to. Products may be cheaper here, but I still have a budget.

            The first strategy I have employed is to stop carrying money. I had a snack, a water bottle and a fully charged mobile phone in my bag for work – there was no need for cash. This will stop me darting into shops at that perilous time of the day when I’ve just finished a shift and my tummy is rumbling.

            The next technique I plan to try is getting my cash out for the week and when it’s gone, it’s gone! I know several thrifty people who use this idea, and I’m going to try it out myself. That way, I can still enjoy touring the high street a couple of times a week, without overspending.

            It’s the balance of want and need and spend and save that I need to get accustomed to in this new environment. Got any tips? I would love to hear them.

2 thoughts on “Pros and cons

  1. I try to live on cash, as much as possible. I get paid once a month (pension) and I have a budget. When I get paid, I take out the cash as put into little envelopes or bags, or coin purses – one for each item in the budget. It is a visual reminder of how much money I have to spend and it works! When it’s gone, it’s gone and I do without until the next pay day. I do have some payments like utilities and mortgage that are automatically taken out of my account. For those, I leave the proper amount of money in the account. I have lived like this for 2 1/2 years now and it has become second nature.
    Myra, from Winnipeg, Canada where we are having lovely summer weather.

    • That’s really good advice, thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I’ve barely used my card at all in the past couple of weeks, so I think I will definitely adapt to just working in cash. Thanks again for your visit, enjoy the weather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

