We’re having a cook-up

Since being in my new space and getting used to the new amenities, I have only spent fleeting time in the kitchen. But on my first day off, I knew it was high time for some serious bulk cooking. I needed to fill the fridge and freezer for the busy week ahead. I love spending time over the stove, stirring pots and throwing in various ingredients. It uses less power, ensures that no fresh produce goes to waste and saves time in the long run. Let’s just say, things got pretty inventive . . .

IMG_0324  These were my lunches for the past couple of days. It’s a concoction of savoury rice, taco-spiced onion and red pepper, and tuna. Sounds odd, but seriously tasty.

IMG_0326

Some times it’s necessary to have simple, cheap dinners occasionally so that I can afford really good meals at other times during the week. Although my supper on Thursday was simply mashed sweet potato and baked beans, it meant I had enough funds to buy necessary ingredients for a kickin’ chilli pot the next day.

IMG_0327

IMG_0329

I will keep bulk cooking because it is the best way to cook on the cheap. Although I did get a reduced loaf of gluten-free bread this week, so it’s sandwiches aplenty for now. Nice to get a bit of variation going on.

Leave a Reply

