I’m ready for Bake Off!

Not that I would be successful if I actually went on the show. This morning, I’ve been experiment and with all such endeavours, sometimes baking goes wrong.

I tried two recipes this morning; carrot cookies and a gluten-free sponge cake. Now, the cake was my fault. I was trying to be thrifty and use one egg instead of two, so it’s no surprise really that it came out a bit flat. I also didn’t have any vanilla extract so I had a bit of ginger instead. I’m sure this ginger sponge will be lovely with a glass of milk in the evenings. Nothing will be wasted during my experimental baking!

IMG_0384

The cookies were even more adventurous. I tried baking them with vegetable fat, to save on butter and see if it worked. In hindsight, this probably wasn’t the best idea. They taste good, but the texture is a bit strange and they’re a bit chewy. I’m hoping they will crisp up a bit as they cool, I’ll have to report back in a bit. But I’ll know for next time to stick with margarine.

IMG_0385

I think it’s good to try to new things and see what works and what doesn’t. And I don’t feel guilty about making/eating cakes because I’m not scoffing as many sweets as I once did! The ginger and honey cake I made last week rose considerably well, despite its gluten free ingredients. Maybe I shall return to that recipe on my baking day next week. It’s all about trial and error. Let’s hope I can pick up some tips this evening. Who else is eagerly anticipating the return of this fab show?

IMG_0386

One thought on “I’m ready for Bake Off!

Leave a Reply

