22

I have been able to reconnect with my blog since returning from my vacation. Put simply, it all got a bit much. Posts were unachievable because I didn’t have an ounce of interesting material. For me, it was about getting through each day. A fair amount happened in my absence.

My 22nd birthday came and went in a flurry of good food, plenty of wine and a ridiculous amount of shopping.

I continued working at ALDI and enjoying my work there.

But most importantly of all, I found my dream flat. It’s heaven and I can’t wait to share pictures with you all. It’s exactly what I wanted; a humble studio flat in the heart of town. It’s not perfect, but it’s all mine and I am responsible for it. It’s daunting and thrilling in equal measure.

As such, I hope to return to the sanctuary of the blogging world with more frequent posts. The budget is not as tight as I once thought it would be, but I plan on living economically and sharing my journey in my very first home.

The tastiest, most incredible part of moving into my own place, even a studio flat, is the sheer joy of owning my own kitchen. It’s not a place ruled by my mother, who upheld her own order with an iron fist. It’s not a place scavenged by students, leaving only dirty plates behind. It’s not a place that has it’s own time frame and schedule for when one can cook dinner. It’s mine. I can cook and bake and spend as long as I want in it. I can leave things to marinate, to cool, to rest without fear of damage or theft. I can arrange the cupboards in a way of my choice. I will have more than one cupboard and a whole fridge and an entire oven just for my own personal use. My heart is singing.

I will be able to share many more recipes and meals once I’m in and settled. I collect the keys tomorrow morning. The adventure begins.

6 thoughts on “22

  1. It’s so good to hear from you again. You sound rested after your vacation and how exciting to be going it alone. The ‘kitchen to yourself’ thing is wonderful. What cook wants to share her kitchen. Living frugally will be so much easier when the whole kitchen is yours with no interference from others.
    I wish you well and look forward to your future blogs as you settle in.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I agree, it will be much easier to be thrifty when I can fill a whole freezer with batch cooked meals and have the space to buy in bulk. I’m still in the process of sorting out internet at the moment (currently using bf’s laptop!) but I know I will be blogging regularly soon 🙂

  2. I too wish you the very best of luck.

    (Just to update you, we are now off on our travels around Europe again. Hopefully 4 months worth! In Belgium at present re-learning how to enjoy not working).

  3. Brilliant news (and a belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY). It will be fantastic to have your very own kitchen, what a thrill. Can’t wait for the guided tour. Exciting times ahead for you.

Leave a Reply

