All the leaves are brown

All of a sudden, it seems to be, it has gone dark and cold and wet. I’ve braved the elements too many times this week that I dare not count. I don’t think I’ve been properly dry since last Monday. But the one good things that raises out of the foul weather is the accompanying food.

Salads and strawberries are all very well when the sun is shining. But there is something intrinsically more enjoyable about the warming dishes that come along with the cooler months. Take soup for example. So simple, so cheap, so delicious.

IMG_0555

IMG_0556

The vegetables were chopped and boiled with the homemade stock I was saving. Then I added a little spice and seasoning, although, in honesty, it could have done with a bit more. Practice makes perfect and I will know for next time. The whole dish was blitzed and a silky, thick soup was created. It was filling and nutritious, what more could one ask for when the rain is pouring.

I have my eye on making a hearty beef stew next. But first, graduation.

2 thoughts on “All the leaves are brown

  1. I hope that you are getting settled in your new home and enjoying yourself.
    Your soup looks good. Do you have a crockpot so that you can leave a meal to cook while you are working.
    You are right about the change in the weather. Here in Dallas we are seeing the first signs of fall. It still in the 60’s during the day, but the nights are cooler. We get longer hours of daylight than the UK in the winter, which I enjoy. I used to dislike the long hours of darkness when I lived in England.
    I have been here for 23 years now. I came originally for a two year work assignment, never thought I was emigrating at the time. Perhaps its good that we do not know what the future holds for us. I miss the UK a lot. I love reading the British blogs, its my UK fix.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Pam in TX.xx

    • Hi Pam, thanks for commenting. I know what you mean about long hours of darkness, I hate it in the mornings, but quite like it in the evenings when I can snuggle down and read šŸ™‚ I’m do have a slow cooker that I’m going to make more use of when the weather gets colder. It’s one of my favourite kitchen gadgets. Have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

